h1

Formulating Foodie(s)

January 8, 2011

Two and a half years ago,I was an unsuspecting college freshman enrolled in a freshmen seminar class that I would have completely regretted as a waste of my time, if I hadn’t met one of my very best friends during the first day of that class (In the second row…because sitting in the first row would have been grounds for being a dork…) . Kristen and I both wanted to pursue food science and, more specifically, product development, which is probably the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear food science. We met a fairly instrumental guy who, while only an undergraduate himself, was very involved in the field of food science and more than willing to share his experiences and help us along the way. To this day, I know exactly who to call when the pit of my fruit looks like something from a horror movie, if I need to know who to contact to access a supply of polydextrose powder or if I simply want to rave about being a finalist in a competition.

Two and a half years later, Kristen and I are distinguished dorks that have expanded our knowledge of food science and both still desire to pursue product development in one form or another. Kristen works as a Quality Assurance technician and I as a Microbiology Laboratory technician. We have also competed in a number of product development competitions, such as the RCA Culinology Competition and the IFT Heart Healthy Competition. Our internship experience has helped us to better understand more aspects of the food industry and apply that knowledge when constructing our product development proposals.

Random outings to Target are anything but unusual.

We are budding food scientists with one year left before we embark upon the world of graduate school. We may or may not be heading to the same graduate school, but something tells me that our friendship will not falter either way. We love to cook, eat and compete. We get about 5 hours of sleep on a good night and, when we find time to turn on the TV, Bones, Law and Order, the occasional Lifetime movie and, of course, Food Network are bound to make an appearance. I live in a kitchen-less dorm and Kristen lives in a fully-equipped house. Some people call us “Whackadoodles”, some people call us “a Dangerous Pair” and I call us Formulating Foodies.

FroYo is a must. I tend to overlook the fact that Kristen gets plain tart.

Kristen and I will be tag-teaming to bring you Formulating Foodie madness on a regular basis.  We’ll “see ya” next time.

-Emily

One comment

  1. I am currently in a communicating science class as an undergraduate, and as the major project for the class we have to maintain a blog throughout the semester. My blog deals with the chemistry and science behind food and the technology used in the kitchen. I’m not studying food science, but food is my passion; science just happens to be what I’m good at, and what I’m studying.



Leave a Reply

